Welcome to the Pennsylvania Auto Seat Act Explained in Plain, Plain Language!
You can probably think of lots of fun things to do instead of looking up the state of Pennsylvania's car seat laws.
I know no one wants to break the law and this is something parents must do to keep our children safe on the streets.
I'm a mom to 3 absolutely adorable angles (when they sleep if I'm lucky) and I used to be a paralegal before becoming a homemaker. So you've found the perfect place to learn car seat law without needing someone who can speak attorney jargon.
That's why I created this article to make it easier for parents to know how to protect children. I promise I'll only use simple, actionable words so you get the most out of it.
You may want specific questions answered, e.g. B. what the law says about booster seats, whether child seats are required in taxis or when a child can sit in the front. All of these questions and more are answered below. Just scroll and you will find them.
what will i learn
- What are the Pennsylvania car seat laws?
- Pennsylvania Booster Seat Act
- Pennsylvania rear-facing car seat law
- Pennsylvania forward-facing car seat law
- When can my child sit in the passenger seat in Pennsylvania?
- Summary of Pennsylvania car seat laws
- What is the Pennsylvania law about leaving children in cars?
- Is it illegal to smoke in a car with a child in Pennsylvania?
- Conclusions on Pennsylvania car seat laws
- Traveling to NYS with your kids?
- Frequently asked questions:
- What are the height and weight requirements for a PA booster seat?
- When can a child get out of a booster seat in PA?
- What is the age or weight of a booster seat?
- Do 7 year olds need child seats?
- Who is a child safety technician and what can they do?
- How long should a child sit in the back seat?
- Can child seats be used after a car accident?
By reading this article you agree that it is for informational purposes and I cannot be held responsible for the best advice you provide to the right person.
Pennsylvania Booster Seat Act
In accordance with the Pennsylvania Booster Seat Act, children between the ages of 4 and 8 must be secured in a booster seat that meets federal standards.
Pennsylvania rear-facing car seat law
By law, children under the age of 2 must be secured in a rear-facing car seat. They must be kept rear facing until they outgrow to reach the manufacturer's recommended maximum weight and height.
Pennsylvania forward-facing car seat law
If your child is under 4 years old then they need to be secured with the right car seat, which means they can also be rear-facing or forward-facing, whichever fits best.
Forward-facing seats are typically used between the ages of 2 and 4 years.
Pennsylvania Taxi Seat Act
Taxis in the state of Pennsylvania are NOT exempt from the car seat laws listed above. So to keep your kids safe on short trips, bring your car seat with you or organize it in advance.
When can my child sit in the passenger seat in Pennsylvania?
There is no law that regulates when a child can sit in the front. However, there is a law that prohibits placing a rear-facing car seat in the front seat while the airbag is deployed.
Summary of Pennsylvania car seat laws
Here you can find all the laws in one place:
Motor Vehicle Seat Act (Vehicle Code, 75 Pa.C.S. 4581)
Ley: By law, children must be insured as follows:
- If your child is under the age of 2, they must be secured in a rear-facing child seat that meets federal safety standards until they exceed the manufacturer's recommended maximum size and weight.
- Suppose your child is younger than 4 years. You must be secured in an appropriate car seat that meets federal safety standards.
- If your child is between the ages of 4 and 8, they must be secured in an appropriate booster seat that meets federal safety standards.
Location by car:There are no laws governing where and when a child may sit.
Taxi: Taxis are NOT exempt from the car seat laws listed above.
RideSafer legal:Yes, the RideSafer travel vest is suitable for children aged 3 years and over and weighing 30 pounds.
- seat belt law
- Ley: All front occupants and children under the age of 18 are required by law to wear seat belts.
- GUT: $10
- mobile homes: The RV law follows the general car seat law for all front occupants, and children under 18 must wear a seat belt, and car seat laws apply to younger children.
What is the Pennsylvania law about leaving children in cars?
It is against the law to leave a child under the age of 6 unattended in a vehicle.
Is it illegal to smoke in a car with a child in Pennsylvania?
There are no laws prohibiting smoking when transporting children. However, I strongly recommend that you stop smoking while the kids are in the car, as it is well known that secondhand smoke is harmful.
Conclusions on Pennsylvania car seat laws
We have come to the end of this article. By now you've probably found all the answers you needed.
I think I kept my promise because I used only the simplest of words so even the most sleep-deprived parents know what the law says.
If I forgot something or you have any other questions, please let me know by sending me an email and I'll get back to you.
Maybe you can help me by sharing this post so other parents know exactly how to keep their kids safe while avoiding fines. Thank you very much!
Traveling to NYS with your kids?
Be sure to do your researchNew York Booster Seat Lawsfor that area before you go. In some cases, you could get a ticket for not having your child in a car seat, and in the worst case scenario, your child could be injured in a car accident.
See more:Ohio booster seat laws
Frequently asked questions:
What are the height and weight requirements for a PA booster seat?
The height and weight requirements for a PA booster seat are as follows: 40 pounds 40 inches at the low end and 80 pounds 57 inches at the highest level. Maximum weight can vary from brand to brand and model as some reach 100lbs.
When can a child get out of a booster seat in PA?
At age 8, a child may be removed from a booster seat under Pennsylvania car seat laws.
What is the age or weight of a booster seat?
In Pennsylvania, the age limit for booster seats is 4-8 years and weight is 40-80 pounds.
Do 7 year olds need child seats?
Yes, in Pennsylvania, a 7-year-old requires a car seat that is a booster seat.
Related:New Jersey booster seat requirements
Who is a child safety technician and what can they do?
A child safety engineer is a certified professional who can help you choose the right car seat (child seat), e.g. You can also explain Pennsylvania law regarding the safety of children as passengers. Also, they can perform car seat inspections after a car accident (car accident) and detect defects in the car seat. In addition, child safety technicians can help you correctly install child safety seats, rear-facing car seats, and convertible car seats. Best of all, a child safety technician can let your child know they still need a child restraint, or they can opt for a lap belt, shoulder belt, or seat belt system. You can also contact the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia who have put together an excellent guide on how to use the seat belt system correctly.
How long should a child sit in the back seat?
Pennsylvania has no laws governing how long a child must be in the back seat. According to experts, children under the age of 13 should sit in the back seat. Otherwise, you should always observe the size and weight limits (weight limit) for child car seats.
Can child seats be used after a car accident?
Most manufacturers say that you should change car seats after a car accident (car crashes) because there could be invisible damage that would not provide adequate protection in the second case.
Last updated on June 26, 2022 by Danny Reid